Early Summer Night’s Dream

“Do not overcook this dish. Most seafoods…should be simply threatened with heat and then celebrated with joy.”
Jeff Smith, The Frugal Gourmet

“Summertime
And the living is easy
Fish are jumpin’
And the cotton is high

Oh, your daddy’s rich
And your mama’s good lookin’
So hush little baby now
don’t you cry

One of these mornin’s
You’re gonna rise up singin’
Then you’ll spread your wings
And take to the sky

But til that mornin’s
Ain’t nothin’ can harm you
With your daddy
And your mammy
standin’ by.”
–  George Gershwin and Dubose Heyward, Porgy and Bess  

“The first zucchini I ever saw I killed it with a hoe.”
John Gould, Monstrous Depravity, 1963
I love the energy and life that summer brings.
I’m not big on too much sun or of the heat.
I can stand the hours, hustle, and the influx of people who come in search of what the beach has to offer. There are always new friends to meet.
I love the bounty of  bright sweet flavors and variety of local delicacies that this area has to offer.
The beach will always be sacred to me even if I see less of it than others do at this time.
Each day that the sun shines I count my blessings enjoying each moment for what it is.
Hari Cameron, The Nights Pondering, 2011
Leave a Reply

