Blue Prawns with smoked paprika and mustard seed

Hawaiian Blue Prawns Overnighted to us From Honolulu Fish Company

I am allergic to shrimp. With that being said, I eat them from time to time when I know that if I don’t that I am going to be missing something great. These prawns are that good! I wear a pair of gloves when cleaning them so my hands don’t itch. You can cook them many ways but in this preparation I gently sear them on the plancha grill.

                             

In my last post I stated that I was going to try to share some more recipes in the new year. Some of the recipes that I give will be hard to replicate without a restaurant full of ingredients or equipment. The two that I have given in this post can be easily duplicated and used to complement a variety of dishes. If you have any questions feel free to start a dialog in the comments section. The internet is a great tool for sourcing ingredients. I think that ratio’s are the keys to making a recipe work. Use the highest quality ingredients that you can find or you can afford.

Smoked Paprika Vinaigrette

150 g. Sherry vinegar

75 g. honey

4.27 g. xanthan gum (0.85%)

150 g. extra virgin olive oil

25 g. spanish smoked paprika

100 g. orange juice

2.5 g. salt (.5%)

Toast smoked paprika lightly in a saute pan over medium until it becomes more fragrant. Put sherry vinegar, orange juice, and honey into a high-speed blender. Blend to incorporate. Add salt, paprika and slowly add xanthan to shear into mixture. Blend for 30 seconds. While blender is running slowly add olive oil to emulsify mixture.

A traditional vinaigrette has a ratio of 1 part vinegar to 3 parts oil. This recipe uses less oil. The sherry vinegar is balanced with the honey and orange juice. The xanthan gum keeps this mixture together and gives the sauce body.

Poached Black Mustard Seeds

2 c. black mustard seed

2 oz. ginger

3 Toasted Black cardamom pods

4 oz. Maple syrup

1 t. cayenne

2 lemons juice (1/2 cup)

water to cover

salt to taste

Add all ingredients and simmer for 20 minuets. discard ginger and cardamom.

These seeds add texture and flavor

Put prawns on plate and garnish with smoked paprika vinaigrette, pickled mustard seeds, sliced kumquat, and pickled red onion.

One thought on “Blue Prawns with smoked paprika and mustard seed

  1. Maybe I’l have to go to Hawaii to get the Prawns? Good excuse anyway!! This dish looks wonderful. Maybe I’ll just go to Nage instead and see what’s cooking there. And it probably taste better when you cook it anyway!

Leave a Reply

